Past students return for Presentation Evening

On Thursday 21 November our 2013 leavers returned for their Presentation Evening, in which Moira Lees, the academy’s Chair of Governors presented students with certificates to celebrate their success. Mrs Lees is retiring this Christmas from day job as Group Secretary at The Co-operative Group and as our Chair of Governors. She was clearly delighted that one of her last duties as Chair is to celebrate the achievements of these young people.

In 2013 the academy experienced a great boost in its GCSE results and that is down to the hard work of the students who are now succeeding at college.

It was a very enjoyable evening with music from the academy Big Band. There were also extra awards for some students who achieved special awards:

  • Duke of Edinburgh Award: Jessica Wong, Taylor Marie Webb, Kane Egerton, Joseph Dunning and Caleb Cloran.
  • Progress – Attainment Award: Robbyn San Esteban
  • Progress – Achievement Award: Abdul Ibrahim
  • Values of the Academy Award – Highly Commended: Joseph Dunning and Magdalene Malachowska
  • Values of the Academy Award – Overall Winner: Taylor Marie Webb
  • Overcoming Adversity Award :Hassan Bangura
  • Head Boy and Head Girl 2012/13: Mielad Niekzad and Robbyn San Esteban

Our school leavers can see photographs from the evening at

blog comments powered by Disqus